The Original Legion

Chronology of the Original Legion — Pre- and Post-Crisis

Special thanks to Aaron Severson and DarkMark's Comics Indexing Domain

About the Different DC Universe Realities

  1. Original Reality (Apr. 1958-January 1986):
    The original Legion of Super-Heroes reality was one of several possible future timelines of Earth-One. On Earth-One, Superman began his heroic career while a young man, calling himself Superboy. His teenage exploits inspired the formation of the 30th century Legion of Super-Heroes. The Legionnaires traveled back in time to meet Superboy, who joined the team and shared many adventures with them throughout his teen years. When he became Superman, he ceased to visit regularly, but his teenage cousin Supergirl (Kara Zor-El of Krypton) also became a Legionnaire. The original, pre-Crisis timeline came to an end in 1986 during the Crisis on Infinite Earths, when the DC multiverse was destroyed and replaced by a new unified timeline.
  2. Post-Crisis Reality (Jan. 1986–March 1990):
    In the readjusted timeline, Superman was the only survivor of Krypton. His powers did not develop fully until he was an adult, and he never had a career as Superboy. To fill the gap in the Legion's continuity, Superboy was said to have existed in a "Pocket Universe" created by one of the Legion's greatest foes, the Time Trapper. The Trapper was a powerful entity who orchestrated the creation of the Legion in order to oppose the sorcerer Mordru. To that end, the Trapper created Superboy, the Legion's historic inspiration, and connected his Pocket Universe to the Legion's so that the Legionnaires would believe Superboy was part of their history. Superboy still became a member of the Legion, but whenever the Legionnaires traveled back in time to visit him, the Trapper surreptitiously diverted them to the Pocket Universe. Superboy eventually discovered the truth and died saving his world from the Time Trapper's machinations. He did not live to become Superman. In the "real" DC universe, Superman was never a Legion member and Supergirl never existed (she was recreated as a non-Kryptonian). NOTE: In the 2000s, many aspects of post-Crisis continuity were further rewritten, including the belated reintroduction of a Kryptonian Supergirl, so a lot of "post-Crisis" events described in this chronology were later superseded. » SEE ALSO: DC Crisis Chronology
  3. Glorith Reality (Mar. 1990-Sept. 1994):
    The post-Crisis Legion timeline unraveled when the Legionnaire Mon-El destroyed the Time Trapper and thus, the Pocket Universe as well. Instead, Glorith of Baaldur took the Trapper's place in the Legion's history after a series of reality-shifting events. Without a Pocket Universe, there was no Superboy. In the "Glorith reality," the Legion was inspired by the 20th-century heroics of Valor (previously known as Mon-El). Valor eventually emerged in the 30th century and joined the Legion, filling the role played by Superboy. A descendant of Valor's, Laurel Gand, also joined the Legion, filling the role played by Supergirl in the pre-Crisis timeline. The Glorith reality was shattered when Glorith accidentally caused Valor's death in the 20th century. The Legion's history disintegrated and the original Legion came to an end.
  4. Legion 2 ("Reboot"/post-Zero Hour/Earth-247, Oct. 1994–present):
    Glorith's mechinations occurred amid the events of Zero Hour: Crisis in Time. A completely new Legion timeline was created with no direct links to any of the three previous realities. This new timeline is referred to as the "Reboot Reality" and described in the Legion 2 (post-Zero Hour) section. After the Infinite Crisis, this reality was assigned its own Earth, and this Legion coexisted with the original and Legion 3.
  5. Legion 3 ("Threeboot"/Earth-Prime, 2005–present):
    During the Infinite Crisis, Legion 2's timeline was upset and its Legionnaires were lost in the time continuum. A third Legion was created when Earth-3's Alexander Luthor and Superboy Prime recreated the DC multiverse. Legion 3 existed on Earth-Prime and was commonly referred to as the "Threeboot" and described in the Legion 3 section. This Legion coexisted with Legion 2 and the original.

+ Standards

  1. The history is constructed assuming that all timelines are valid. Events are listed regardless of whether they were retroactively eliminated or not.
  2. Color Codes:
    A new member joins the Legion.
    A major story arc.
    A Legionnaire dies.
    Events that took place only in pre-Crisis continuity, not in any of the post-Crisis timelines.
    Adult Legion stories: These were an alternate future timeline for the pre-Crisis Legion. They were not the "real" future of the Legion and were not part of Legion continuity, although some of them were part of Superman/Supergirl continuity.
    Imaginary Stories that are not technically part of any continuity.
    Events that took place only in the Glorith reality, not in pre-Crisis continuity or in the Time Trapper-dominated post-Crisis timeline.
  3. Issue information in parentheses indicates one of two things: (a) the tale was retold/corroborated in additional stories, and/or (b) the tale was told out of chronological order. Certain events that have never been chronicled in print (the five-year gap, Kid Quantum's admission and "death", etc.) use asterisks (*) in place of issue numbers and cover dates.
  4. Characters' first appearance IN PRINT is bolded. This often differs from their first chronological appearance.
  5. When the placement of a tale within continuity is in question, the event is usually placed in the most recent possible time.
  6. All 30th Century dates come from 2995: The Legion of Super-Heroes Sourcebook and/or Legion of Super-Heroes (volume 4).
  7. Only the inheritors to a title display the level of succession. Example: "Invisible Kid II" (for Jacques Foccart), but just "Invisible Kid" (no "I" for Lyle Norg).
  8. Consideration for inclusion is based on an event's relevancy to the Legion, its members and their legacy. This includes major Legion series and key issues from other DCU series.
  9. Comics book titles have been abbreviated:
    Legion v.1 = Legion of Super-Heroes, 4-issue limited series (reprint only, 1973)
    Legion v.2 = Legion of Super-Heroes, 2nd series (#259-313; continues numbering of Superboy and the Legion of Super-Heroes, 1980–84)
    Legion v.3 = Legion of Super-Heroes, 3rd series, 55 issues (1984–88)
    Legion v.4 = Legion of Super-Heroes, 4th series, 125 issues (1989–2000)
    Superboy v.1 = Superboy, 1st series, #172,173, 176, 178, 183, 184, 188, 200, 191, 193, 195 (1971–73)
    Superboy & the Legion = Superboy and the Legion of Super-Heroes (#197-258; continues numbering of Superboy, 1st series, 1973–79)
    Tales of the Legion  = Tales of the Legion of Super-Heroes (#314-354; continues numbering of Legion of Super-Heroes, 2nd series; 1984-87)
    Legionnaires # = Legionnaires, #1–18 (1993–94)

Jump to It!

Bonus Chronologies!

Wish you could read the events of just one cohesive timeline?

My Collaborators

The following is the most complete Legion of Super-Heroes Chronology ever compiled, originally written by myself, with additional entries and edits from John Censullo. More edits were performed on the pre-Zero Hour material by Aaron Severson and the post-reboot material by Brian Mendus. Not only were these guys great to work with, their material is, in my opinion, superior in quality to most Legion fan endeavors.